Blog: The absolute latest random thoughts

Kari Byron news

previous posts:

Today's "what's this company?" mystery: Safer Alco...

Losing classroom content

Cross pollinating outreach ideas

Equity versus equality

Tempered glass whiteboard ideas

Top tier front line

What's a "retreat" or a "getaway"

Where to meet?

RIP Rifr

Finding missing persons...

earlier posts:

09.2002   10.2002   11.2002   12.2002   01.2003   02.2003   03.2003   04.2003   05.2003   06.2003   07.2003   08.2003   09.2003   10.2003   11.2003   12.2003   01.2004   02.2004   03.2004   04.2004   05.2004   06.2004   07.2004   08.2004   09.2004   10.2004   11.2004   12.2004   01.2005   02.2005   03.2005   04.2005   05.2005   06.2005   07.2005   08.2005   09.2005   10.2005   11.2005   12.2005   01.2006   02.2006   03.2006   04.2006   05.2006   06.2006   07.2006   08.2006   09.2006   10.2006   11.2006   12.2006   04.2007   05.2007   06.2007   07.2007   08.2007   12.2007   01.2008   02.2008   05.2008   06.2008   07.2008   08.2008   12.2008   01.2009   02.2009   03.2009   04.2009   05.2009   06.2009   07.2009   09.2009   10.2009   11.2009   12.2009   01.2010   02.2010   03.2010   04.2010   05.2010   06.2010   07.2010   08.2010   09.2010   10.2010   11.2010   12.2010   01.2011   02.2011   03.2011   04.2011   05.2011   06.2011   07.2011   09.2011   10.2011   11.2011   12.2011   01.2012   02.2012   04.2012   07.2012   10.2012   11.2012   01.2013   02.2013   03.2013   05.2013   05.2014   06.2014   07.2014   12.2014   01.2015   02.2015   03.2015   06.2015   11.2015   02.2016   03.2016   04.2016   05.2016   06.2016   11.2016   04.2017   10.2017  


Fwd: [#MRO-489-36585]: com-give.com scam site

Wow. Rare to get hypocrisy (or lies) in writing, but sometimes it happens. If you ever wondered if NameCheap stands by the public claims they make in places like https://blog.namecheap.com/how-to-report-a-fraudulent-website-to-a-registrar/ here's proof in black-and-white that they don't:

Begin forwarded message:

From: Nataly Bondarenko <abuse@namecheap.com>
Date: April 29, 2016 at 1:37:03 PM CDT
To: <emlarson@...>
Subject: [#MRO-489-36585]: com-give.com scam site
Reply-To: <abuse@namecheap.com>


Thank you for your email regarding the domain name com-give.com. While the domain name does have Namecheap.com as the registrar, we cannot oversee the data being transmitted through its website. We do not own the domain name mentioned in your complaint, we are simply the company the domain name was purchased from.

The issue would need to be addressed through the hosting provider to see if their terms of service are violated and would need to be addressed through the domain registrant as they should be the individual that controls the particular content being exchanged. We have no way to police such issues as we do not control the hosting company in this instance.

While we understand the inquiry, we are not in a position to determine the validity of your statements. If you believe you are a victim of an internet crime, or if you are aware of an attempted crime, you can file a complaint through Internet Crime Complaint Center at https://complaint.ic3.gov. In case we receive a request form a law enforcement authority of the United States we will assist them in their investigation.

> The site "com-give.com" is cleverly using sub-domains to scam people. See:
> http://marlboro.com-give.com
> Obviously registered with the intent of scamming people in giveaways. Will you bother to shut it down?

Nataly Bondarenko
Legal & Abuse Department

Ticket Details

Ticket ID: MRO-489-36585
Department: Domains -- Legal and Abuse
Type: Issue
Status: Awaiting Client Response
Priority: High

Helpdesk: https://support.namecheap.com/index.php?/default_import

Hmmm... From their blog:

NameCheap takes fraud very seriously.  We do everything we can to keep the internet safe for everyone.  If you find out a website is fake, just follow these directions:

1.) Go to Domain Tools located here and type in the domain.
2.) Find out who the domain is registered with.
3.) Write a formal complaint in an email.
4.) Send it to the registrar’s abuse department. NameCheap’s abuse department can be reached at abuse(at)namecheap(dot)com. If we find the charge valid, we will suspend the domain.

Please keep the internet safe for everyone. Report fraud whenever you see it!


At September 23, 2016 at 11:37 PM, Blogger emlarson said...

Since my comment is "awaiting moderation," let's see if NameCheap posts my response to the new conversation on the 7-year-old post that I referenced:

That sounds great, Jackie, but they won't do anything about a fraudulent domain. Period. How do I know? There's a clever spammer/hacker/fraudster using subdomains at the website "com-give.com" which is registered through NameCheap. I documented my contact with NameCheap's abuse department in April on my own blog at http://blog.emlarson.com/2016/04/fwd-mro-489-36585-com-givecom-scam-site.html -- they said, "While the domain name does have Namecheap.com as the registrar, we cannot oversee the data being transmitted through its website." Thanks to their indifference, an unknown number of people got scammed in August with a fake Aldi site of "aldi.com-give.com" (see https://www.google.com/search?q=site%3Acom-give.com for a record of that) and who knows how many more sites will pop up before the domain expires next year. I'd chalk it up to a true hands-off attitude, if NameCheap weren't here bragging that they care about fraud while refusing to deal with a domain that's fraudulent in-and-of-itself regardless of the scam that might run on a given day. Talk is cheap. Opening refusing to act on a public promise is surprising, but it says a lot about the value of NameCheap's word.


Post a Comment

<< Home


emlarson.com:   Home | Blog | Work | Tech | Life | Lord | Play | Mail

Entire site contents Copyright © 2000-2005 Eric M. Larson

All rights reserved, please don't steal my stuff, etc. etc. etc.